Blackcurrant Season

I think we can safely say that blackcurrant season is over but never fear.  Out and about today I noticed that the delightful elderberries are garnishing the trees on the lane near to my home.  The ones I spotted are ridiculously high of course, but they are the ones for the emigrating starlings to feast on.

I need to go a-forgaging to find some of this black gold at a sensible level.

Then what?

Elderberry pie?

Elderberry jelly?

Both are nice but realistically I never manage to collect enough to make anything substantial so I think it will be elderberries in the juicer and elderberries cooked with delicious cinnamon and nutmeg for breakfast with some chia seeds stirred in for a bit of protein.elderberries-with-light-background

Leave a Reply

